How to Sing and Other Stories

Sorry for the misleading title – I can’t teach you how to be good at singing. I really can’t sing. This is about having the courage to sing. I’m really quite terrible, however I continue to do so all the time because it makes me feel good and it feels refreshing. I bring this up because I think it’s important to have courage and to do what we want to. Being self conscious is an issue that gets skimmed over too much for my liking. It is horrible at the time – however it can be overcome and learned from.

In my early teens being self conscious hit me pretty hard. So hard that actually I thought I might be paranoid. I remember that I wouldn’t even open my mouth to speak without looking over my shoulder twice, I never said anything opinionated because I was afraid of offending people and what they would think of me. I was afraid of expressing myself and my true feelings.

I just wanted to tell anyone who feels like this that they are not alone. In fact it is the majority of people who care what other people think. That is also your freedom, once you realise that everyone else is caught up in their own worries to notice yours is when you can move on. You can spend all day worrying about everything, about whether your hair looks okay to whether you should voice your opinion but you should know that most people are so wrapped up in their own worries and thoughts (are people staring at me? did I wear to much make up? does it make me look trampy? will it make me look like a nerd if I read this on the bus? does it make me look helpless if I take the bus? – it does get ridiculous!) to notice any of yours.

Like I said earlier, being self conscious at some point in your life can be learned from. When I was younger I once went to meet my wonderfully stylish friends in a t-shirt and jeans, I felt so second best all day, so since then I have been overdressed for everything and I adore it – it has become part of who I am! I guess that’s a little example….

But the best example and the very best thing you gain from overcoming self consciousness is perspective, which happens to be one of the best things ever. In fact most experience gives you perspective and well, it is a pretty bumpy road-ed experience so you’ll gain lots of it! Perspective makes you see things as the truly are which brings me back to singing. I sing on the street when I want to, I wear anything I like, I say what I feel when I feel it and everyone else should. So your singing badly on the street, so what? Does it matter what other people think? Of course not. Will you ever see those people again? Probably not, no. Try to get over your fears, be yourself and remember that you only live once – so sing.

All my love,

Lizzi x

2 Responses to “How to Sing and Other Stories”

  1. Elen Says:

    Lizzi, this is amazing! I’m gradually getting over my shyness 🙂 and I think I’m almost completely over my self-consciousness which was a huge problem for me.

    • Lizzi Says:

      Thank you so much! It is more horrible than people than give it credit for! I’m so happy for you ^-^ you have no idea! xx

Leave a Reply

